Aloo (Gobi) Tikki or Indian Potato Cauliflower Cakes

Aloo Tikki are those little fried, spiced Indian potato cakes that are a bit crispy on the outside and very light and soft on the inside.  They are usually served with green or tamarind chutney and are very, very tasty.  One of my favorite Indian food blogger/author has been talking about them recently so I’ve had them on my mind. But I wanted to lighten them up (over the traditional) a bit.  So, I thought I could bake them rather than frying them.  But THEN I thought that if I can make cauliflower mashed potatoes, why can’t I make cauliflower potato cakes?  And Oh Boy are these AMAZING!  YUM!  I’m in love.

These are delicious!
These are delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium head cauliflower, chopped and steamed
  • 1 cup of mashed potato
  • 1.5 tsp chaat masala
  • .5 tsp garam masala
  • 1 clove garlic, grated (I use something like this)
  • 1 tsp grated ginger root
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup breadcrumbs (I had panko on hard, you could use plain or make your own)
  • salt to taste
  • Extra breadcrumbs

I chopped the cauliflower until fine grain consistency with my tiny food processor and mixed it with all the other ingredients (except the extra breadcrumbs).  Taste for seasoning.  Chaat masala has salt in it so go easy on the salt initially.  Make golf ball sized balls and flatten into patties. Press patties with breadcrumbs and put on a pan-sprayed, foil lined cookie sheet.  Bake at 400 for 10-15 minutes, flip each patty and cook on the other side another 10 minutes or until golden brown and crisp.

Eat and enjoy!  You will notice there is no fat or dairy in this so this snack or side dish is completely guilt-free.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Aloo (Gobi) Tikki or Indian Potato Cauliflower Cakes

  1. I’m intrigued to try these! This is the first link I followed when I typed in aloo gobi patties. Have you thought of using a potato ricer (tool) for both the potato and (blanched cauliflower)? I’m thinking about trying it this way next weekend for the big potluck

    1. Next time I will rice the cauliflower and potato together to make it a bit more cohesive, I think. Thanks for the suggestion!

      HG

      >

Leave a Reply

