Surgery Approaches!

I just saw Dr. Hartsock yesterday and I am going to have the Peri-Acetabular Osteotomy.
We are looking at a date in mid-late May.  I need to have a MRI Arthrogram first and then a couple of consultations with the good doctor and his partner, Dr. Mooney.  Both docs seem really well qualified.  They’ve studied under the right people (Ganz, Matta and Millis) and have the right experience.  As I get more information, I will post.  And don’t worry, after surgery I will post all of the gorey details- including scar pictures – because, in addition to the fact that I tend to be a bit sick in my obsession with these things, there is far too little information out there about what this surgery really entails.

Also, I’ve noticed that some of you have found this site while searching for information on your hip condition.  If you found this post through googling "Hip Dysplasia" there are a couple of good resources out there!  There is a yahoo group devoted to hip dysplasia and having a THR (Total Hip Replacement) or a PAO (Peri Acetabular Osteotomy).  Its called Hip Women.  Also, there is a website called Hip Universe which is an excellent resource for those of us who have to deal with this.  For those facing the PAO surgery, there is a much needed Live Journal devoted to one women’s surgery and recovery.  It hasn’t been updated in a while but if you go through the archives, it is super detailed. 
I think her surgery was in Feb/March of 2005.

Good Luck!

5 thoughts on “Surgery Approaches!

  1. Whoo-hoo! Soon you can walk around horror conventions and crappy comic stores for hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours and hours!!

  2. I had a hip replacement January 10, and am getting around great now with just a cane. My problem was arthritis, not dysplasia; I don’t know how much pain you’re having, but I know I felt better even the day after surgery.
    The Hip Universe resource looks useful and interesting — thanks for pointing to it.

  3. hey! I know exactly how you feel right now..i have the same surgery coming up in august! where are you getting your surgery?

Leave a Reply

