Alterknits PDA Case, et al.

Well, I just finished up the PDA case in Leigh Radford’s Alterknits but with a twist.  I knit it completely in BULKY weight Lambs Pride (instead of worsted weight) and it felted down to the perfect small handbag size.  Big enough for a cell phone, small wallet and keys!  I can’t post pictures b/c it was a gift and I’ve already shipped it off, but gosh, I just love the patterns in that book!

Also, got to spend some time with Teva Durham’s Loop D Loop.  The patterns in this book are really lovely.  It’s so nice to see real fashion in a knitting book.  I’d say most of the patterns look like really expensive, cutting edge knit wear.  A good amount of the patterns even feed my fantasy of a post-apocalyptic wardrobe (think Blade Runner, not Steel Dawn), and that makes me very happy indeed.

You see, in my post apocalyptic world, we are all devastatingly fashionable in perfectly torn and worn, occasionally asymmetrical, utilitarian fashion in an assortment of colors like….

nuclear winter gray
mudslide brown
ash white/off-white
steel cold blue
etc. etc.

Of course, we are all slightly rotting from some super flu/nuclear war/environmental collapse but I guess that’s the price we pay for SUVs.  You know, I really didn’t intend to get political here.  I really just wanted some light banter about the end of civilization as we know it.  Hmmm.  Well, to make it up to you I will share a little gem.  The title of my absolute favorite sci-fi/environmental apocalypse book.  It’s not easy to find.  I trolled many a used bookstore and library sale for this baby, but I promise you, it is well worth it.  Nature’s End by Whitley Strieber and James Kunetka.  Some people love this book, others hate it.  I devoured it.  Now go out there and have some knittin’ for the apocalypse fun.

One thought on “Alterknits PDA Case, et al.

  1. Heather, All this apocalyptic talk …you’re starting to sound like me! And then you go and say something like Whitley Strieber. The man who wrote the book about aliens called Communion (which I haven’t read, but I’ve seen the movie), and Transformation which I read while I lived with Jennifer and Patrick in Poughkeepsie the summer between freshman and sophomore year in college (and it scared the shit outta me!)
    But back to the banter on the end of the world as we know it: I believe it’s very important to keep in the “as we know it” part, because we all have to realize that we don’t “know” much about the Universe’s and our own potential. The world and Universe has more power and influence over general existence than anything we “know” in our minds. That’s just two of my many cents.
    Amanda
    p.s. I love your post-apocalyptic fashion fantasy and colors. You can be the stylist/knitter in my (pre-apocalyptic) commune.

Leave a Reply

