Dear Knitting,

Oh, knitting…..what happened?  We were moving along at a good clip.  I felt like you really "got" me.  We spent our evenings caught in each other’s embrace.  Our days were spent dreaming of when we would finally reunite.  Work spent plotting our next experience together.  It was good.  REALLY GOOD.  But now, disinterest has set in.  Ennui has prevailed.  I feel our relationship is but a shell of what it once was.  Sure, I still think…"maybe tonight will be different" but it never is.  It’s just endless, soporific stockinette.   I even tried to spice things up by introducing a little lace into the mix, but, alas, even that proved fruitless.

Maybe I just need a summer fling.  Something different.  A break from the monotony.  Will you still love me in the fall if I have my summer flings?  Will you?  Will you Jemima?  And you Lace?  Sigh….I think it’s just a risk I’ll have to take.

Knitting, meet Quilting.  Quilting, Knitting.  I’m sorry Knitting, but Quilting is bringing Sock Monkeys to the table – SOCK MONKEYS!  This is what I’m talking about!

Dscf0596

And velveteen, OH THE VELVETEEN!!  Quilting has the softest, velvet touch.

Dscf0598

Dscf0602

And Knitting, did I mention how low-maintenance Quilting is right now?  I mean sure, she has a temper and can be totally impossible at times, but most of the time there’s no back and forth with gauge and winding, etc. etc.  Hell, I bought the velveteen pre-cut!

I don’t know what the future has in store for us,  Knitting, but if you love something set it free, if it comes back it was truly yours to begin with.  Right, Sting?

2 thoughts on “Dear Knitting,

Leave a Reply

