Book Review: Lily Chin’s Knitting Tips & Tricks

I just got a copy of Lily Chin’s Knitting Tips & Tricks: Shortcuts and Techniques Every Knitter Should Know in the mail the other day and I have to say, its a great little book!

DSCF1192
First off, let me just say that this is not a straight technique book.  There’s no how to knit, how to purl section.  Ok, well there is, but this book isn’t about that.  This book is not meant purely as an introduction to knitting, but rather for one who is already knitting.  What the book does have are tons of neat little tricks that can make your knitting life easier. 

For example, are you knitting something straight off the cone, but the cone keeps tipping over?  Lily’s got a little fix for that.

Did you just cast on 300 stitches and have run out of cast on yarn when you need 12 more stitches (this happens to me more than I’d like)?  Don’t want to rip out all of your hard earned cast on?  Lily’s got a fix for that.

Did you just finish that last sleeve on your beautiful cable knit sweater only to realize that halfway down your cable goes the wrong direction?  Lily’s got a fix for that too.

Lily Chin’s Knitting Tips and Tricks is a handy little volume that took me by surprise.  I thought it might be the same old how to book, but instead I found a practical, useful and well organized reference which has already gotten quite a bit of use in my house.  I think it will get quite a bit of use in your home too!

Leave a Reply

