Baked Tofu and Finished Projects – Two Great Tastes That Have Nothing To Do With Each Other!

I'm just going to kick things off with a statement.  I can now make kick ass tofu AND I've finished a quilt and a sweater.  So there!

OK, tofu first.

I love the kind of tofu you get in a good Asian restaurant.  The kind that's crispy and chewy and delicious and I can never make at home without frying it in lots of bad-for-you oil.  Yeah, that kind.  Well – I've cracked it!  I can now bake tofu like nobody's business and its good – REALLY GOOD.  Like make 4-5 blocks of it and keep it in the fridge for the whole week kinda good.  Which I've done and am doing now – its AWESOME!

Heather's Baked Tofu Of Goodness – can easily be sized up or down

  • 2 blocks Extra Firm Tofu (Firm or Low Fat Firm also work really well)
  • Ponzu
  • Sesame Oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Olive Oil

Line a cookie sheet with a couple of tea towels and then lay a couple of layers of paper towel on top.  Cut  each block of tofu into six slices and place on paper towels.  Cover with a couple of layers of paper towels and a couple of tea towels and another, slightly smaller cookie sheet.  Weigh down the top (smaller) cookie sheet with something really heavy – I use a big Le Crueset dutch oven.  Preheat Oven to 425 while you let the tofu drain for at least 30 minutes.  Cut tofu into cubes – I get about 8 cubes/slice and put in a big bowl or zip lock bag.  Now add in (these measurements are approximate – adjust to suit your taste) 1/8c to 1/4c of Ponzu, 2 tbsp olive oil and 2 tsp sesame oil and a bit of salt and some fresh cracked pepper.  Gently toss the tofu until the liquid is all absorbed.  Place tofu in a single layer on a greased, foil lined cookie sheet (grease the foil, not the cookie sheet).  Bake at 425 for about 20-30 minutes until golden brown, crispy and toasty and then flip tofu cubes.  Bake another 15-20 minutes until tofu is your preferred color/crispiness.  Remove from oven and let cool.

So, what are we going to do with all of this bloody tofu?  Well, try a piece.  Its gently seasoned, crispy and nutty.  It would be good in this form on a salad or tossed into something that needs protein, like a vegetable curry.  It would also be great to keep some around for when you want to stir fry up your "about to go bad" veggies.  It would be really great served in some peanut sauce (PB, soy sauce, mirin, honey, rice vinegar, chili) or maybe a honey-miso glaze with steamed broccoli and jasmine rice.  It would be yummy in BBQ sauce with corn on the cob and some cole slaw.  The Possibilities Are Endless!!!

Now go make so tofu goodness!!

Next Up: Finished Nimbus and Finished White/Black and Red All Over Lap Quilt

So I made Nimbus and, well….meh.  Its alright but its not the most flattering sweater on me.  I'll post model shots when I finish blocking it.  Here it is unblocked:

DSCF1296 

Its cute, right?  Looks like the pattern (I had to add 4 inches to the body to get it to look like the pattern incidentally), good color, it should work.  When on it hits me in just the wrong place on my torso, eliminating my waist, which for a boxy sweater is baaaaaad. Its also too wide on me, further emphasizing the baaaaad. I may try to block out some width and add some length.  That might help.  I'll keep you posted.

I did however make a successful White/Black and Red all over quilt for my cousin.  She said those were her favorite colors and as she is sick, I wanted to make her something to curl up with, like a lap quilt.  This is what I came up with:

DSCF1295 

This one pleases me to no end.  I think it turned out great and its about 45×56 or thereabouts which is a pretty good size for a lap quilt.  I hope she likes it!!

3 thoughts on “Baked Tofu and Finished Projects – Two Great Tastes That Have Nothing To Do With Each Other!

  1. Thanks!! I really appreciate it!! I promise Ill update more when school is out in May. Grad school is sucking away all of my blog mojo.
    See you around the blogosphere,
    Heather

Leave a Reply

