Book Review: Martha Stewart’s Encyclopedia of Sewing and Fabric Crafts

Look what I got in the mail the other day:

MS_Book

And its so good!  Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Sewing and Fabric Crafts is the high quality book you would expect from Martha, in all her glory, AND the projects are really accessible and useful.  Now don't get me wrong, it tickles my funny bone to no end when Martha glitters twigs from the backyard, glues felt birds to them and puts them on the mantle in a $1,000 dollar vase.  But I will never do that.  Its just not practical for me, my life, my finances and time schedule.  THIS book, however, is fantastic in its practicality – which, as you may know, is hard to find in a sewing book these days.  I can honestly say that I could really use (and understand the directions for and follow through enough to finish) at least 80% of the projects in this book.  That is huge!  Usually, at best, I buy a sewing book that has one or two "must make" patterns in it and a few that I half-heartedly convince myself that I might make.  Martha has hit a home run on this one – I want to make most of the book!  See?  I already started a project!!!

DSCF1422 

DSCF1423

The book is organized in alphabetical order by what you want to make.  B for bags, C for curtains, etc.  Its really easy to follow along and the book comes with a disk to print off patterns.  Now that this school semester is over (Thank God!) I plan on sewing my way through this book.  Obviously, I have the B for bag started and I think I'll make new (C for) curtains for my sewing room. 

Thanks Martha!

Leave a Reply

