School De-Stress

So this semester is going to suck with an emphasis on the uh-uh-uck.  Not b/c its boring or the instructors are bad, but b/c it will be a ton of work.  School started in mid-august.  SO that's where I've been.

But, as school is entirely online and work is mostly online, my brain begins to pickle in its own digital juices after a while and I need a break from the virtual.  It helps maintain sanity and reduces the intensity of my glare-induced headaches.

Thus, I have a few FO to share!  YAY!

First off, my progress on the much neglected and often forgotten Estelle.  I'm so close, I can taste it.  And it will have short sleeves, so I've only got about 5 more inches on the body to go and I'm practically finished!

DSCF1479 

Also, summer is ending, even though its still bloody hot out so its time to think about a fall garden.  Since SC was like living on the surface of the sun these last couple of months, there was no summer garden for me.  I would've been tending a patch of scorched earth and that's no fun for anyone, especially if, like me, you like to eat what you grow.  So this year, we are trying something different.  After much raking, weed pulling, mulching, etc.  We made our back patch into something relatively tidy and we installed a raised bed for a square foot garden.

DSCF1495 

From back to front we have:  cherry, solaris and beefsteak tomatoes, basil, red cabbage, butter crunch lettuce, collard greens and red leaf lettuce.  The front row has seeds for swiss chard, carrots (we'll see about those) and beets (yum!).  I'm very excited.  I haven't really grown any of this before (aside from the tomatoes and basil) so it will be exciting!

Finally, something for Quincy.  Quincy is crate trained, but we never kept him in the crate.  The crate is big and ugly and he would never hurt anything in the house anyways, so the crate stayed in the garage.  Then one stormy day, I came home from running errands and found Quincy in the small, dark, guest bathroom.  He popped right out when he heard me.  No problem.  A few days later it was thundering again and the same thing happened.  So I though that our Quincy might like a small, dark little hideaway of his own when it storms.  So out came the ugly crate.  He loves it.  Which left us with an ugly crate in our living room.  Well, ugly crate no more!  I made Quincy a crate cover in brown tweed with a navy cotton lining.  The whole thing is machine washable and even has room for the crate handle to poke through the top for easy transport.

DSCF1496 

Here's a detail of the top.  See the handle?  Love it!

DSCF1498 

So that's what I've been up to.  That and watching seasons 2-4 of Angel.  What have you been up to lately?

One thought on “School De-Stress

Leave a Reply

