Furniture and the Obligatory New Year’s Post

Our new furniture is in place and we love it!  Here’s a peek:

See the blue chair? That's my knitting chair!

The only thing is that now that I have a knitting chair, Quincy is seriously unhappy.  I used to sit on the couch and Quince could just curl up next to me, under a blanket.  Well in the new chair its a bit of a tight squeeze for both of us.  And he is quite pouty about the whole thing.  I don’t mind squeezing in with him, but he just takes forever to get comfortable and the constant rearranging makes knitting my mittens difficult.

But we will figure it out in the end, I’m sure.

SO, totally off topic, but this year is going to be difficult.  Or at least the next 4 months are going to be difficult.  Working at College of Charleston while trying to balance my other job is one thing.  I’m going to have to institute Saturday hours for my business and that just hurts (I love my weekends).  But in addition to that I’m taking 2 classes (and graduating in May).  And building a new website for LISSA (Library and Information Science Student Association).  I’m a bit worried I’ve bitten off more than I can chew….

Regardless, I will finish my mittens and find time for some time for more knitting and/or quilting.  I think that will be important to my sanity.  And I will keep up this blog.

I deactivated my facebook account on Sunday.  It was such a huge time suck.  And I did next to nothing on it.  The only thing I’ll miss are the handful of friends that I actually communicated with regularly and some of the amusing status updates that gave me the illusion of being connected to people that I actually wasn’t.  Those who are my friends can find me (web, e-mail, text, phone – I’m around) and I can find them.  And hopefully I’ll have more time for, or at least less of an excuse to not do, my work.

That’s what my new year is going to be all about – wasting less time and getting more accomplished.  I think its a simple but worthy goal.

 

3 thoughts on “Furniture and the Obligatory New Year’s Post

  1. Very nice furniture! Duke is fussy when I’m in a chair too, he doesn’t fit or he wants to be immediately under my hands where my knitting needs to be. Silly puppies. Good luck with this semester, you have got your work cut out for you!

  2. Happy New Year! Love the new chair. New furniture is always fun. Hope the next four months pass by with minimal stress. Be sure to take a little time for yourself. I hear the mittens calling your name.

Leave a Reply

