Maybe I’m Late to the Party

But tell me you have been to Skinny Taste website!  Sunday is my day to grocery shop and cook (I cook all week long, but on Sundays I really work some things out int he kitchen, if you know what I mean) and lately, I check Skinny Taste first. Tons of very tasty recipes, all with nutritional information (as some of us count calories or carbs or points) and all ranging from relatively healthy to very, very healthy indeed! And I do not suffer “skinny” food lightly.  I require texture, seasoning and above all TASTE.  If “skinny” food doesn’t deliver, then I’ll just eat less of the real thing. So far,  I can give a thumbs up on the Chicken Enchiladas (I use corn, not low carb tortillas and added a bit of fat free sour cream to the filling) and a BIG double thumbs up on the Greek Turkey Meatballs with Skinny Tzatziki (didn’t change a thing).   I will say that I usually do add a bit of additional flavor or salt or maybe a smidge of this or that to her recipes, but all in all they have almost all been excellent (don’t ask about the Cauliflower Fritters, the recipe was sound, I just don’t think they were my thing).

Well we have another winner folks –  Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Scones!!  Go make these, now.  Seriously.  I’ll wait.  They are that good and dead simple.  Mix the wet, cut the fat into the dry (I used my fingers), combine wet and dry, shape and bake.

Here they are shaped and ready to bake:

One should never take photographs inside a hot over. It cools the oven and produces rubbish pictures. Noted.

And 23 minutes later you get this beautious sight (beautious is a word, isn’t it?  I’m sticking with yes, for now):

Lower fat, lower calories, heck they are only 5 pp+ each and they taste delicious!

The recipe was perfect.  I didn’t change a thing.  Oh wait, that’s not true.  I ran out of WW flour and just used AP for the whole recipe.  But it still turned out perfectly!  No one would know they were on the lighter side.  I like these so much I’m going to use this as a base for other scones, maybe cranberry orange or maple walnut or dried cherry and blueberry.  So many possibilities.  So many DELICIOUS possibilities.

 

5 thoughts on “Maybe I’m Late to the Party

    1. They were excellent, but they don’t last long. Stale by day 3 or 4, even wrapped in plastic. But trust me, they won’t last that long anyways. 🙂

Leave a Reply

