Light Banana Bread (That’s Actually Really Good)

I always buy my bananas green.  I do this not to make them last but because I only like green bananas.  When the last spot of green is gone from a banana and its all yellow, then its too ripe for me.  Thus, I sometimes have 2 or 3 bananas left at the end of week.  This screams banana bread!  But banana bread can be a bit costly in the calorie/fat/carb department and I am counting my points plus (aka I’m on the Weight Watchers).  So what I want is a lower point banana bread recipe that tastes like honest to goodness banana bread AND has a decent sized portion.  I found this recipe from CheapHealthyGood.blogspot.com and it all sounded too good to be true.  But its not!  Look:

                                           How amazing does this look?

The only real change I made was adding about 3 TBSP of Ghirardelli dark chocolate chips and instead of skim milk, I used fat free half and half.  I dropped this into my points plus calculator and got 6 points plus per serving (10 servings per loaf).  Its only 5 if you leave out the chocolate chips!  And let me tell you, this recipe is delicious!  You would never, ever guess that it was on the light side.  NEVER.  I mean, really, does this look very low fat to you:

                  I couldn’t help myself. I needed a slice right out of the oven!

And considering you get 10 servings/loaf, that’s a slice about an inch thick – perfect! So pop over to Cheap, Healthy Good and give it a try.  You will not be disappointed!

4 thoughts on “Light Banana Bread (That’s Actually Really Good)

Leave a Reply

