Clotted Cream, a First Effort.

Did you know that it is quite easy to make your own clotted cream?  For those of you who don’t know, clotted cream is this lovely stuff that gets spread over your scones at tea.  It has the consistency of butter, but isn’t oily and good clotted cream is even a touch sweet (though not from added sugar). Think the flavor of cream with the consistency of butter and you have clotted cream.  Its lovely stuff.

Here in the US, it is sold in very small glass jars and usually looks unfit for consumption, cracked and broken (the cream, not the jar) and is god awful expensive.  I love scones with clotted cream but haven’t had them since the last time I was in the UK (two whole years ago!  Too long.) I mean I make scones, but who wants to spend 9$ for a frightening looking jar of clotted cream?  Not me.  Anyhoo, a friend of mine sent me this link to Chopped Ginger’s post on making clotted cream (and scones out of the leftover cream) so I just had to give it a go!  I’d say it was a partial success.

First off, I had to go out twice to find the cream.  Chopped Ginger doesn’t mention anything about pasteurized cream so I initially just bought what the grocery store had, which was ultra-pasteurized.  I got home, did some reading and everything said that it wouldn’t work with ultra-pasteurized heavy cream.  Fair enough.  So I tried a different stone and actually found some organic cream and worked with that.  I baked my 2 pints for 12 hours as directed, then let it come to room temp and then chilled it for 8 hours. Halfway through this process, I read the organic cream labels and saw that it too was ultra-pasteurized.  DAMN IT!  Luckily, I decided to finish out the process because here were my results:

                                                That’s a lot of clotted cream!

Well, it seems to have worked!  The only problem is that I think I cooked it too long.  I read a few different recipes and they all said 8-12 hours at 180 degrees.  Most said 2 pints will take 12 hours, 1 pint will take closer to 8 hours.  Mine tastes scalded.  Not extremely so, but the scalded flavor is there and it should just be cream flavored.  So that is only a partial win in my book.  Also, if you try this at home DO NOT make 2 pints worth of clotted cream.  I have no idea how we are going to use up all of this stuff.  FYI, 2 pints of heavy cream = 2 cups of clotted cream.  You’ve been warned.  So, after you skim the clotted cream off the top you are left with something that looks like this:

You can see around the edge where it scalded while I was cooking it overnight.       Beware the scald!

I used this leftover cream to make Chopped Ginger’s Scone recipe but it didn’t quite work for me.  It turned out way too liquid-y and I wound up having to add an extra cup of flour to get it to hold together.  The recipe would have worked fine if I had made drop scones, but I went for a traditional round.  After adding the extra flour and baking it for 15 minutes longer than called for, I got scones but they are a bit too gummy in the middle.  So, again, partial fail.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy the outside!

                Cream scones with clotted cream and jam. Nothing better!

So, we have lessons learned:

  1. One can totally make our own clotted cream.
  2. One must always make LESS clotted cream than the recipe calls for. Or be prepared to eat a lot of clotted cream.
  3. One must watch vigilantly for scalding after the 6-8 hour mark.
  4. Use the leftover cream to make scones, but make drop scones.
  5. Clotted cream and scones (even scalded clotted cream and slightly fail scones) are always amazing.  You should make some!
4 thoughts on “Clotted Cream, a First Effort.

  1. I had no idea you can make your own clotted cream! Here in Australia we are viciously denied of such a luxury – everything here is so pasturised and regulated. Thank you for posting, looks delicious!

    1. It turned out that my organic heavy cream was indeed pasteurized. So I would say – give it a shot! You never know.

Leave a Reply

