A Quickie: Quick Mixed Berry Jam

This is great.  Every time I have fruit going spare (think on the verge of mold, but not yet gone) I throw together a quick jam (at least that’s what I call it).  We bought HUGE containers of berries at Costco and just couldn’t get through them all before they started looking a bit squidgy.  This weekend’s efforts turned out so well, I thought I’d share.

Jam, Jam, Jam.  I love Jam.  On my toast, in my belly.  Jam, Jam, Jam!

Mixed Berry Quick Jam

  • 2-3 cups of mixed berries (blackberries, raspberries, cherries)
  • 1/2 green apple, peeled and grated (adds some much needed pectin)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/8-1/4 cup water

I placed all of this is a large non-stick frying pan and let it simmer away for about an hour.  Long enough for the berries to fall apart and some of the liquid to reduce.  Took it off the heat and added a splash of vanilla extract.  Stir and jar up.  And no, I don’t strain my jam b/c I love the raspberry and blackberry seeds.  😀

Leave a Reply

