White Bean and Asiago Puree

This stuff is fantastic.  I know I might say that a lot, but I mean it.  We first had this at an amazing restaurant called Trattoria Lucca.  It was served as an accompaniment to fresh, warm, crusty bread.  They served it as a scoop on a plate with olive oil and cracked pepper on top.  One taste and I knew I had to try to replicate it.

                                                    White Bean and Asiago Puree
              Spread me on crusty bread, use me as a dip for veggies, whatever!

White Bean & Asiago Puree

  • 20 or so oz Cannellini beans
  • 3-5 oz grated Asiago cheese (I used an olive oil and rosemary asiago which I highly recommend)
  • A good drizzle of olive oil (1 tbsp maybe?)
  • 1 clove finely minced garlic
  • salt and fresh cracked pepper

Toss it all (except the cheese, salt and pepper) in a food processor and blend until smooth.  Fold in the cheese and season to taste. Or, if like me you don’t have a food processor, Toss it all (except the cheese, salt and pepper) in a big bowl and use an immersion blender to process it until smooth (or as smooth as you can get it with an immersion blender, which isn’t half bad). Fold in the cheese and season to taste.

You can serve it with no knead bread or I’m thinking of putting it in a wrap with some oven baked eggplant and roasted red peppers.  FYI, despite all the cheesey goodness, its only about 4 weight watchers PP+ for 1/6 of the bowl (which is a very, very decent sized helping).  Y’know, if you’re into that sort of thing.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

