‘Tis the Season for Spiced Rum Balls!

Dear god I love rum balls.  They are one of the few foods that I have next to no self control over.  I love them so much.  I’m like a dog.  I can’t help myself.  Therefore I never make them, except when I can give them away.  As it happens, every year I make a gift for my co-workers at the library and I usually give out about 15-20 little gifts. Last year was sea salt fudge and candy cane fudge.  This year, I’m going full on rum ball.  And they turned out so good that I thought I’d share.

I mean, seriously, how god do these look?  All packaged up in mason jars?  Super cute!
I mean, seriously, how good do these look? All packaged up in mason jars? Super cute!

For the record, I do recommend using a rum that you would drink.  Also, only use dark, black or spiced rum because let’s be honest, clear rum is meant for disinfecting counter tops and removing sharpie from dry erase boards (it really works), not for drinking.  This year, I went with black, spiced rum and I’m very glad I did.

I've released the Kracken this year and I'm very glad I did!  It makes great rum balls and an excellent dark & stormy.
I’ve released the Kracken this year and I’m very glad I did! It makes great rum balls and an excellent dark & stormy.

The recipe is dead easy and yields brilliant results time and time again.  I have even successfully quintupled it with no negative ramifications.  I would caution that this makes a VERY boozey rum ball.  I dig that.  I like rum.  If you want a milder rum ball I would reduce the rum to 1/2 cup.  I’ve done that without needing to alter any other part of the recipe and its fine.  Still a good rum flavor, but not quite so NSFW.

Tipsies aka Rum Balls

  • 6 oz dark chocolate (Ghirardelli 60% chips is what I use)
  • 3 TBSP corn syrup
  • 2/3 cup rum
  • 2.5 cups crushed vanilla wafers
  • 2/3 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1.25 finely chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans)

Melt the chocolate in a double boiler, add corn syrup and booze and whisk gently to combine.  Add all dry ingredients and mix until well combined.  Let sit for about 30-60 minutes until it can be handled.  Roll into balls.  Roll the balls in granulated sugar.  After you do you get something that looks like this:

Rum Balls, an interior shot.
Rum Balls, an interior shot.

Keeps at room temperature for weeks in an airtight container.  Makes 4 dozen (at least).  Do yourself a favor and run the vanilla wafers and the nuts through your food processor.  You won’t be sorry.  If you make them, let me know how they turn out.

This recipe was handed down to me through my MiL.  Apparently she got it from a lady named Judy.  Here’s the original recipe card!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

