Apple Cinnamon Almond Protein Muffins

Breakfast has started to become a problem.  I’m working on making sure I have protein in my breakfasts, but I don’t want to make eggs in the morning.  I know, I know, but I don’t want to.  I like to save my eggs for a quick dinner (brinner) when I’m stuck for ideas. My trainer recommended Ezekiel breads, so for the last 6 weeks I’ve been eating Cinnamon-Raisin Ezekiel toast with almond butter and a piece of fruit. You might say I’m in a breakfast rut.  I’m STILL burned out from the great baked oatmeal craze of 2012 and I’ve eaten a lot of greek yogurt lately, I drink a protein shake after my workouts so I’m not adding it to the breakfast repertoire and cereal kinda sucks.  So what’s a girl to do? I’ll tell you what – make protein muffins!

I found a delicious looking recipe here on the Delighted Momma blog.  I tweaked it ever so slightly and came up with these:

protein-muffin
                Not too shabby, eh? The ones in the back aren’t burnt,                                                      they’re just upside down.

Apple Cinnamon Almond Protein Muffins

  • 2 cups almond meal
  • 6 oz unsweetened applesauce
  • 4 oz 0% fat greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp double strength vanilla

Mix it all together, bake in greased muffin tins at 350 for 25 minutes. Makes 12 muffins. Correction, makes 12 really, really tasty and moist muffins.

Each muffin is 154 cal, 12 carbs, 10 g. fat, 6g. protein and 7g. sugar.  I’ll be eating two at a time for breakfast (at 7am) for about 300 calories and 12 grams of protein and I’ll probably grab a greek yogurt (again) for another 12-14 grams of protein at 10am.  That’s pretty decent in my book.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

