Book Review: Sereknity

Time for another book review!  This time I was sent a review copy of Sereknity: Peaceful Projects to Soothe and Inspire, Nikki Van De Car’s book on cultivating mindfulness and finding peace through knit and crochet. This title contains 27 patterns in all, 14 crochet and 13 knit, that are relative simple to complete (how can you relax if your fiber project is stressing you out?) but, despite the simplicity, each item is useful, modern, and attractive. Nothing is overly fussy, but most patterns could easily be considered at least good, solid basics trending towards modern, minimalist classics. Considering the year I’ve had, this is just what the doctor ordered!

First things first, I don’t have much to say about the crochet projects as I don’t crochet, not really.  I’ve crocheted all of two afghans in my life and then I checked crochet off my to-do list.  But I must say, Contain (pg. 88) is a simple, structured basket pattern that I would use again and again.  It might even eventually entice me back to crochet, even if only for that one project.

Contain

On the knitting side, there are several patterns that caught my eye. I’ve cast on for Yoga Toes (pg. 27) as I am someone whose feet are perpetually both cold and hot and toeless socks sound like a wonderful idea to me (also, I would totally use these for yoga in the winter).

Yoga Toes

Svadhisthana (pg. 31), a knitted lap blanket, is simple and beautiful and is exactly what I want to be knitting when my anxiety is high and I can’t sleep.  It would be a welcome addition to a comfy chair if knit in a luxury yarn, or would make a cozy baby blanket in an organic cotton.

One or two patterns might seem a bit silly at first glance, like Manipura (pg. 38), the knitted mug cozy, but what a killer way to use up scrap yarn AND stop using the wasteful cardboard cozies they give you at your ubiquitous chain coffee shop.  Also, have you ever had one of those days where you just need a quick win?  Yeah, Manipura only needs 25 yards of yarn and a smidge of your time and Boom!  Instant win!

Manipura

Finally, while I am a sucker for a good, knit, slouchy hat, my head is such that I need a pattern because I ALWAYS misjudge the size. Pisces (pg. 60) is perfection.  Knit in fisherman’s rib stitch, it’s simple, modern, and in a neutral taupe, very, very cute.  This will be my next project, I think.

Pisces

Sereknity’s patterns are well written and easy to follow.  The book is filled with all of the typical guidance that beginning knitters would need to get the most out of the patterns, while more experienced knitters can just skip over those parts without feeling like they paid for more instruction than pattern.  The patterns are divided into three sections, color, texture and structure and there are tips and meditations sprinkled throughout the publication. I’m normally pretty cheap when it comes to knitting books (I know, I know, not good) but at $15.99, I feel the patterns are well worth the money.  Yes, they are simple, but:

  1. that’s kind of the point, and
  2. even the simplest pattern would make an excellent starting point to tweak to your own liking without committing to write a custom pattern b/c, I don’t know about you, but I do not have time for that.

What did you think of Sereknity?  Let me know in the comments!

Save

Leave a Reply

